Subtitles

I wish there was a pill I could take to get you off my mind,

Like Xanax for unrequited love,

That could make me stop looking at you,

Longingly,

From across the room.

 

 
I wish there weren’t so many hurdles between us.

That you could cross our distance with two long strides,

And hold me in your arms like we’ve been wanting you too.

 
I wish our conversations had translated subtitles,

So we could say what we really mean.

 

 

I’d say: “Hey! How has your week been?”

And the subtitle would read:

“I can’t stop thinking about you.

Wanting you.

Dreaming that this could work,

If the time was just right.”

 

 
You would reply: “It’s been good, kinda busy…”

And the typeface on the screen says:

“I want you too.

I wish things were different.

I wish the timing was right.

But I know it’s not.”

 
So many conversations,

 

 

Yet something always seems to get in the way,

 

 

Of  saying: “I want you”

 

 

And,  “I want you too.”

Leave a comment