Mine

I don’t think I could explain,

The bitterness and gall.

I have no words to share,

The depths of despair,

The brokenness and pain,

Being shattered on the ground.

No one could understand,

What it’s like to breathe in shame,

And exhale darkness.

To find solace in the emptiness of sin,

Satisfaction,

In broken cisterns that never heal my heart.

 

But even then,

You were with me,

Followed me deeper,

Into every valley,

Held my face in Your palms,

As I cried,

And You spoke over me:

“You are mine.”

 

Not all stories have happy endings,

But You are the period at the end of my sentence.

You picked me up like a child,

And walked me to safety.

You saw me as pure and holy,

The girl in the white dress,

The Songbird sleeping on Your chest.

 

And even then,

You were with me.

You followed me higher,

Onto the mountain.

Held my face in Your palms,

As I cried tears of joy,

You spoke over me:

‘You are mine.’

 

No brokenness can break me,

I am a daughter of the Lord most high!

No cage can keep me,

This songbird will always fly!

For the moisture of His breath,

Is the wind beneath my wings.

I find my safety near His chest,

Where he speaks over me:

“You are mine.”

Leave a Reply

