Alone

People talk around me,
And their words fall on deaf ears.
Because when your dark eyes fall on me,
I want to be alone with you.

And when I laugh and interact,
With every piece of small talk,
With every hand in my hair,
And sip of my drink,
I’m telling you,
I want to be alone with you.

And when you bring me into your conversation,
Halfway across the room,
When you catch my eye at every humorous moment,
Like we are in on an inside joke,
I know you want to be alone with me too.

So take my hand,
Let’s run away from here.
Let’s find the summer in the winter cold,
Let’s find the spring,
In each other’s arms.

Take off your shoes,
Feel the waxy grass between your toes,
Swim with me in the secret waterfall,
Under the stars.

We’ll get lost all night,
And never be found,
Until we find ourselves,
Alone.

Leave a Reply

