Pour Out

All the life inside of me,

Is the drink that keeps you living.

Is the cool liquid you long for,

Is the heartbeat in your chest.

All the life inside of me,

Is the liquid that tames your parched mouth,

Which comes from nights of no sleep,

From fighting her off in your dreams,

From tossing and turning in your sheets.

All the life inside of me,

Is the water that you dive in,

To wash off the sweat and the grime,

From frequenting guilty pleasures,

Finding love in musty bars.

All the life inside of me,

Is the rain that gives you peace,

After stifling days inside your head,

Ruminating over anxious thoughts,

Of when she was in your bed.

You lay in heaps without me,

Dehydration leaves you dead.

So I pour out the life within me,

Till you have all I have left.

Leave a Reply

