Today

I had a dream last night,

That I grew confidence,

That I lost my inhibitions,

That I did what I’ve wanted to do for a long time.

I walked up to you,

And I gently,

Tenderly,

Held your face in my hands,

Looked you in the eyes,

And kissed you.

The kind of kiss where you breathe into another person.

The kind of look that says everything words can’t.

The kind of touch that feels like home.

The nerve endings on my lips,

Will jump to yours,

With the tale of my heart.

They’ll tell you that I don’t care that we are different.

I don’t care that our futures have different locations,

That we strive for different dreams,

That we value different things.

They’ll tell you that I’ve been holding it all in for years,

And I’m ready to let go.

Of the fear of personal pain,

Of the walls that keep me safe,

Of the rules that separate what I want from what I do.

I don’t care.

I don’t care what happens next week,

Or next month,

Or next year,

Or tomorrow.

I just want to lay in bed with you all day,

Basking in the bliss that we have together.

I just want to spend time with you,

Every minute,

Everyday.

Your presence is like water,

To this fire in my veins.

So fall with me,

Let us run away,

Just you and me,

Basking in this moment,

Today.

3 thoughts on “Today

Leave a Reply

