The Night We Met

I hear voices loud and clear,

Breath in the air.

Rapid words, hollers of laughter, and all the things that keep the world spinning,

Are blaring like a fog horn in my ears.

 

But I reach a fingertip towards your shoulder,

And the whole world goes quiet.

Like a moment of silence at a funeral,

Like someone stuffed cotton in my ears,

Like that moment right before you break through the ocean’s surface–

And sputter for breath,

All I hear is nothing,

But my breath,

Catching in the back of my throat,

As my skin grazes yours.

 

 

Photo by Michelle Albert

Leave a Reply

