Fool’s Gold

After spending decades at sea,

Sick to my stomach and lonely,

Tossed about by the devastating, unexpected storms,

Searching desperately in the deepest, darkest caverns,

Leaving no slime covered stone unturned—

 

I am a pirate,

Who has finally found her treasure.

 

As I gingerly open the chest,

Fingers grazing over decaying metal and earth sodden wood,

My eyes behold a prize of bright gold, luminous rubies, and glittering diamonds.

 

Yet, as I soak in the culmination of my life’s work,

I turn away and leave it lying useless on the ground,

 

Because I can’t believe it’s possible,

That after all this time,

It’s real.

 

 

 

Photo by Michelle Albert

Leave a Reply

