Adults

My nerves are alive,

They are frying on the ends,

Like someone put them in oil over a hot stove to saute them.

My bones are alive,

My bones are alive!

They are in constant motion and creaky,

They are electric with anxiety!

Because I gave you a seven digit pass code,

Just because you asked for my name,

And suddenly we were set for the stage.

Because everyone around me is putting on stage make-up,

Everyone’s memorizing their lines.

They go on dates like the plot tells them to,

They dress perfect for the part!

They go through the motions,

And glance nervously to the crowd,

Hoping that if they look convincing in their role,

They will really become,

“Adults.”

Leave a Reply

