Hold

Hold

Hold,

Hold my heel,

As the rest of my body hurtles towards the ocean,

As my fingertips graze the water,

As I gulp down the fear that you’ll let go.

Hold,

Hold,

Hold me tight in your arms,

As I walk invisible,

As I am glared at by others,

When your light makes me stand out.

Hold,

Hold,

Hold my head,

When I don’t have the strength anymore,

When my limbs simply fail me,

When you’re all that I have.

Hold,

Hold,

Hold me in your hand,

Guide me to the streams that will wash me clean,

To the place where water soaks in my skin,

To where I am all that I am,

And all I am,

Is yours.

Leave a Reply

