Exhale

Teach me how to find the water,

that will actually keep me satisfied.

To taste it on my lips,

like the next hundred years of my life.

Teach me how to run the race,

towards the arms that will actually keep me—

whole, sane and loved so I can hear you call me ‘darling.’

Help me to sprint till my legs are numb towards all but what brings you joy.

My heart is always hungry for more and more,

craving things that won’t stay down for longer than a minute.

Teach me how to desire what your heart quicken’s for,

to yearn and long for the sensations that were made for me by you.

Help me to be and live and breathe you deep into my molecules,

show me how to exhale you into everything I do.

Leave a Reply

