I Like the Way You Were Made

I like the way your body was made,

the way your bones are connected with cartilage,

and a layer of muscle and fat and skin cover them.

I like the way your smile goes,

little bones, connected by little roots, to your gum–

the way your face dimples in your right  cheek when you laugh at me.

I like the way your mouth looks when you are telling me something serious,

your smile turns down on one corner in a grimace,

and a sneaky hint of a smile resides in the other corner.

I like the way the skin in your fingertips reacts to mine,

the way that your sensory neurons react to touching me and send a signal to your brain that reminds me that you love to be in my presence.

I like the way that you react when you think I look really pretty,

how you nervously laugh and shift your eyes from side to side like a fifteen year old kid.

I like the way God made you.

I like the way that he makes us go together pretty well.

Leave a Reply

